20 Responses

  1. Vince
    Vince May 17, 2013 at 20:56 | | Reply

    Hello,

    Great info on review plugins. However, I can’t seem to find a plugin for independent reviews for products and services. The Myreview plugin might be the ticket, but I need some conceptual fog cleared on how this works. For example, I want to rate some local merchants on their services. How to I construct the database in which to input these companies and then rate them? Is there an input form and customizable data fields? If I am a visitor to this site, how do I pull up the data to review? I also want flexibility to present the information on demand. Any guidance would be greatly appreciated.

  2. MIchael
    MIchael June 30, 2013 at 09:36 | | Reply

    Any idea what happen to Reviewengine by Dailywp they seem to be gone. If that is the case my site was half completed so do these plugin import the data as I have spent 6 months entering data and now its gone? Is a shame it seemed very good at the time I got in January 2013.

  3. David
    David July 12, 2013 at 07:33 | | Reply

    although more an article rating plugin, this ‘new kid on the blog’ here could be interesting in this connection: the Purple Heart Rating Plugin. See here: http://wp-buddy.com/products/plugins/purple-heart-rating-wordpress-plugin/

  4. Amy
    Amy September 27, 2013 at 00:20 | | Reply

    Hi Jean,

    Thanks for the helpful article.

    What are the two WordPress review plugins you would recommend? I see several listed above in your article. Is the jReview plugin from Joomla better than anything the WordPress community can provide right now?

    I would like to create a review site similar to a Yelp or Angie’s List for a specific niche. I want users to be able to post reviews to the site by completing a custom form that could include drop-down menus, boxes to select, and fields for text. It would also be nice for them to be able to add businesses they would like to review that are not already on the site. I would like for a business’s review rating and number of reviews to appear next to the business name. It would be nice for users to be able to rate whether a review was helpful or not and make comments on a review (similar to Amazon).

    I don’t have a lot of web development experience, just some limited experience with WordPress, so it would be nice if the platform and plugin I use are pretty intuitive and user-friendly. The site will also include some static pages, a blog page, and I would like it to have a really attractive design.

    Can you steer me in the best direction? Joomla or WordPress? What review plugin would give me the functionality I’m looking for? There is so much information out there, some of it outdated, some of it conflicting, that I’m looking for help to take the best and most efficient path to create my website.

    Thanks so much,

    Amy

  5. Monty
    Monty September 29, 2013 at 09:52 | | Reply

    Hi Jean,

    Im looking for a free review plugin where I have a post on my website and the users can come and review the post. Basically I will be writing about people and I want users to come and say what they feel about that person. They should have an option of user ratings, and then the average rating is displayed on the post. (Maybe in the form of stars)

    Any idea about such a plugin.

  6. Johnny
    Johnny December 7, 2013 at 19:01 | | Reply

    You need to remove MyReviewPlugin from your list. The owner has not been accessible for support for months. The plugin is broken, and has been flagged by some hosting companies. Its poorly written code, also contributes to excessive load on websites.

    http://www.warriorforum.com/main-internet-marketing-discussion-forum/719724-myreviewplugin-issue.html

    I’m not a Worrior Forum member. I got this from one of my clients that we decided to use this plugin for. As a plugin developer myself, I do not accept non-existent support from other developers, especially those that charge.

  7. np0
    np0 January 30, 2014 at 05:37 | | Reply

    For woocommerce integration which of the above would you suggest?

  8. Hakim
    Hakim April 12, 2014 at 11:30 | | Reply

    This one http://wordpress.org/plugins/wereviews/ also worth a try.

  9. Alejandro
    Alejandro August 27, 2014 at 01:52 | | Reply

    JReviews is no longer just a Joomla extension. It’s also available for WordPress and a demo can be found here http://wp-demo.reviewsforjoomla.com/

    1. Alejandro
      Alejandro August 28, 2014 at 16:39 | | Reply

      I forgot to mention there’s a quick guide and video tutorial here http://www.slideshare.net/jreviews/jreviews-for-wordpress-intro-quick-start-guide

  10. Danny
    Danny June 10, 2016 at 05:01 | | Reply

    Hey guys! I’d love to recommend you a pretty cool review plugin I’ve recently discovered for my website! It’s very easy to use and provides a great support. Check it out here: https://wordpress.org/plugins/review-builder/

  11. Mike McClellan
    Mike McClellan September 19, 2017 at 10:25 | | Reply

    Lots of good information here, but none of these quite fills my needs. I am looking for a plugin that will aggregate reviews from the major review sites such as Google, Facebook, Yelp, Trip Advisor, etc and allow me to display the best of these reviews on the website. It should display with a link to the original review site so that people can verify that the review is legitimate.

    Any ideas on where I could find such a plugin?

    Thanks,
    Mike

  12. Sonika Srivastava
    Sonika Srivastava April 10, 2018 at 06:00 | | Reply

    Great Post! You have explained every plugin very well. It is very informative and interesting to read.

  13. james
    james June 11, 2018 at 03:17 | | Reply

    Hi, I’d like for you to check out my most recent Review plugin for WordPress, WP Ultimate Reviews Pro.
    It can handle reviews for the entire site, a particular page and/or a product.
    It is Woocommerce and EDD compatible and uses Scheme Brand and Product (Person, Book etc coming soon).

    A free, simpler version is coming soon (WP Ultimate Reviews)

  14. Gracey
    Gracey November 15, 2018 at 12:53 | | Reply

    I’d like to make a suggestion to this article about Simple Reviews Widget. It’s a well developed, simple plugin that adds a reviews carousel to your sidebar.

    Its completely customisable so you can match it with your theme, comes with all google fonts, custom colours, can be used in any language and has schema to get google stars under your name in results. See: http://www.simplereviewswidget.com/

Leave a Reply