Site Review – WPMU.org, The WordPress Experts

Today we will be reviewing the WPMU.org website. Reviewing a whole website you ask? Yes, usually our reviews are of themes and plugins, however WPMU.org has so many interesting WordPress goodness in it that I am sure this will be a very interesting post for you. As our reviews are always impartial, we will not only pointing out all the great things about this WordPress resource, but also any areas where we feel it could be improved.

If you’ve been working with WordPress for some time, you will probably have come across WPMU.org in one way or another. The site was created by James Farmer. Since its creation the site has grown exponentially, and there are currently 8 core contributors who share the writing, design and development tasks.

James shared some visitor statistics a few weeks ago during a highly publicised discussion on how the Google Penguin update affected WPMU. Taking a look at these stats and a quick check at Alexa.com, it’s clear that WPMU.org is one of the most popular WordPress resource sites on the planet, making it a one of the biggest players in the whole industry revolving around WordPress.

Attempting to breakdown the vast amount of content available on WPMU.org is no easy task, however taking a look at the menu bar gives a good indication at how things are structured here.

It is clear that there is an insane amount of articles in this site, and the first 5 menu items are category views of these articles:

  • BuddyPress
  • Multisite
  • Plugins
  • Themes
  • Tutorials

The site originally started out as a blog about WordPress Multisite, a product which was eventually merged into the standard WordPress installation. However there is still a healthy focus on Multisite usage and the WordPress sister project BuddyPress. This is one of the unique features of WPMU.org, as most other blogs focus directly on WordPress, somewhat neglecting the multisite functionality and BuddyPress, which are used by many developers.

The Plugins, Themes and Tutorials sections are self explanatory, and feature a constant stream of articles and reviews that are many a developer’s daily dose of WordPress learning. Here I would like to point out that WPMU.org makes very good use of RSS feeds, making it very easy for readers to subscribe to a particular category feed, rather than the whole site’s feed. This is some of those features that I feel are not exploited by many WordPress blogs. When you have this amount of content, it make a lot of sense to let those people who are just looking for, say themes, to just have theme reviews coming up in their RSS readers every day.

The posts themselves bear witness to a team of experienced writers. WPMU.org writers like Sarah Gooding and James Farmer himself are favourites of mine, while there are also many guest posts by top experts in the industry, broadening the breadth of topics that can be covered by the site. Posts tend to receive quite a number of comments and there is always a healthy discussion brewing, especially when a particularly inspired post is published. As an example, check out the post on why you should never search for free themes, which has received an unbelievable number of comments, totalling upwards of 500!

Throughout the whole site we can find a number of banners and references to wpmudev (another site owned by Incsub) which is a marketplace of plugins and themes. The wpmudev site has been recently redesigned, it’s a thoroughly exciting place and I’m really digging the new responsive design. We won’t be going into it today, but I definitely suggest you check it out, there are loads of excellent themes and plugins plus a whole team of developers providing support 24/7.

Getting back to our analysis of the content found on WPMU.org, there is also a Q&A section, where users can go ahead and ask WordPress-related questions, and have an expert from the WPMU team answer them. Going through this section, it looks like this is one of the less successful sections of WPMU.org. The number of questions is quite miserly and some of them have no answers. With the existence of places like WordPress.stackexchange.com I think WPMU.org should seriously reconsider the future of this section.

From my understanding wpmudev also offers support not only on their themes and plugins, but also on general WordPress queries, so it would be better if WPMU.org would promote this feature of wpmudev a bit more, I am sure many developers would sign up to wpmudev just for this feature. In a similar fashion, although I don’t actually use Justin Tadlock’s Hybrid theme, I am a member of his club just for the excellent WordPress support one can get there. WPMU.org have the numbers necessary to be able to do something like that or just offer it through wpmudev.

Moving on, the Showcase is another category where WPMU.org features theme and plugin reviews, most of them in the super popular list format. Definitely worth bookmarking or adding this RSS feed for keeping up with the best themes and plugins to use for your client websites.

Finally we find two other category pages, Freebies and Interviews. The Freebies section is dedicated to anything free, while the Interviews section contains highly insightful chats with plugin developers, WordPress-based service owners and the like. This is one of the sections that I keep my eyes on. The interviews are not that frequent, however there is always something to learn or get inspired from whenever a new one is published.

The last item on the main menu is Blog View. This is another unique feature to WPMU.org, and basically gives you a chronological latest-first view of all the site’s articles. The main page of the site has more of a portal look to it, with gateways to the different sections of the site as well as space dedicated to promoting Incsub products such as wpmudev, and plugins like MarketPress and Membership.

I particularly like the ‘Submit WordPress news to us’ button in the site’s sidebar. Most other WordPress resource sites do encourage guest posts, but none to my knowledge make it that easy to submit your own news item and possibly get you on your way to submitting a guest post. The email subscription box is also very nicely done, the icons beneath the subscribe form let users visually imagine the kind of content they will be receiving, and definitely make you want to sign up, in fact I’ve just signed up myself!

Conclusion

Overall WPMU.org is an excellent WordPress resource site that should be part of your daily reading if you are in any way connected to WordPress. It has something for everyone, and with the easy RSS category subscription, you can get only the feeds that interest you. The content is of the highest standard and all original writing, none of the rehashed posts we get on other sites.

As highlighted earlier in this post, I don’t see much use for the Q&A section in its present format, and would suggest that the WPMU.org management team remove or revisit this part of the site.

I also feel that the homepage is a bit overwhelming with all the articles available there, and I’m not sure about the idea of having such a homepage plus the ‘Blog View’ link we mentioned earlier, although statistics might prove me wrong here. I would probably prefer if the two were merged into a cleaner home page that still entices users to visit the various sections of the site. Judging by the wpmudev redesign effort, I’d say the team at Incsub definitely have the skills to refine WPMU.org further and take it to even loftier heights.

Apart from these two weaker points, WPMU.org is a vast WordPress resource and deserves a full recommendation for interesting and enriching reading. You can follow WPMU on Twitter or join them on Facebook. If you work with WordPress, you simply have to have WPMU.org in your list. So go ahead and…

Visit WPMU.org

Do you want to have your site, theme or plugin reviewed? Check out our review options and get in touch!

If you enjoyed this post, make sure to subscribe to WPMayor’s RSS feed.

About Jean Galea

Jean Galea is a WordPress developer, entrepreneur and padel player. He is the founder of WP Mayor, the plugins WP RSS Aggregator and EDD Bookings, as well as the Mastermind.fm podcast. His personal blog can be found at jeangalea.com.

Related Articles

42 Responses

  1. Dyzk
    Dyzk July 2, 2012 at 18:54 |

    I like buddypress theme from wpmu.org

  2. Mark
    Mark March 18, 2013 at 15:22 |

    Stay away from this company. A quick Google search of “wpmu dev review” will be enough to put you off. Wish I’d done that.

    I tried their “Directory” plugin, but it wouldn’t work properly with my theme. I was told that my theme would have to be modified to make it work.

    Apparently this applies to most themes – something they conveniently fail to mention before you sign up.

    $19 down the drain.

    1. Timothy Bowers
      Timothy Bowers March 11, 2014 at 12:23 |

      Where a theme follows WordPress standards it should work just fine, however if a theme does something custom (not always a bad thing) then it can change how and if custom post types are pulled.

      Unfortunately with many thousands of themes being available it makes it pretty much impossible to test them all. That said, where we have access to the third party theme then I’d be more than willing to take a look at their code although in most circumstances it’s best to still speak with the original theme developer to ensure you don’t the same or similar issue with other plugins.

      Have a fantastic day! 🙂

  3. SM
    SM August 16, 2013 at 21:27 |

    Mark is 100% right about the bad reviews on wpmudev.org and I’m surprised he only spent $19. Their business model is designed to get you in for cheap ($10 right now) and then get you paying $79 per month while they pretend to give you support and bug fixes on the plugins they lied about working. Then, they just say NO to all requests for refunds, even though they have a beautiful guarantee refund policy on their website.

    I spent hundreds of dollars, and about $10,000 in my own time for about 7 months of being strung along by these scammers. Seriously, just a cheap trick company with ideas about plugins, which they get YOU to fund for them. See, they have these great ideas for plugins so they say that they already do this functionality, then people like me pay to join, and then discover bugs, and request fixes, and months and months later I catch snap that they are using us to fund their ideas.

    WE are paying money to test their plugins!! Unbelievable. Run the other way.
    It was such a nightmare that it inspired me to start a blog called “Wrong Promises Make Us – DEVious!” http://WPMU-DEV.com
    (the acronym is actually very similar to wpmudev, but mine stands for something else.

    In my blog, I will be revealing companies like this that I have personally blown thousands of dollars with. wpmudev.org is just one of them, but it was the final one that had me start a blog.

    If I can help one person avoid these companies… Just read about the bad reviews for wpmu dev plugins and themes and support before you make the costly mistake of losing a load of time and some cash.

  4. Gregg Murray
    Gregg Murray October 26, 2013 at 18:18 |

    First, to Jean. I came across your site last night and have spent hours reading your stuff. Really fantastic. I rarely spend this much time on a site. Thank you for all your hard work.

    I’ve been a member of WPMUDEV for a few months (bought $207 quarterly plan) and have found the investment money well spent. Keep in mind, I’m just a designer, not a developer, which probably makes me a better target audience for their service.

    I’m currently working toward a WP Multisite project and the answers I’ve received in the live Q&A chat alone have made it a great investment. Unlike forums, where you have to wait and hope you get an answer, you get to communicate1:1 with a variety of pros (they’re pros to me) live throughout the day.

    Will I continue to pay long term? Well, that will depend on how their Multisite plugins work for me. I’ve read the horror stories, but still joined. And that’s because for as many people that have had bad experiences, you know 10x as many have great experiences. But, when it comes to Multisite plugins, what choice do I have? It’s not like I can use comparable/free plugins and get any better support…especially live support. For me, as a designer, it’s certainly worth a couple hundred bucks a quarter. And if they let me down, I’m no worse off than I would’ve been using a different plugin that flakes out.

    But, if anyone knows a similar service that allows me to communicate 1:1 with a variety of developers, let me know. Thanks.

  5. Mike
    Mike February 12, 2014 at 12:24 |

    What are you talking about?! Have you read their terms of service in regards to refund disputes? I’m sorry I ever came across this company.

    1. Timothy Bowers
      Timothy Bowers March 11, 2014 at 12:15 |

      Hey Mike.

      Our Terms of Service are pretty clear, if you have an issue that is a fault in our code and we can’t fix that within a reasonable amount of time then we’ll happily refund. If you have a specific case you like to discuss then please contact me through the following form:

      http://premium.wpmudev.org/contact/

      Select “I have a different question” and I’ll then look into the matter for you.

      Have a great day!

  6. drstool
    drstool March 10, 2014 at 12:12 |

    WPMU is a hard sell marketing and spam outfit. They install spam on your WP control panel which persists after you remove their dashboard plugin. You need to root through your folders to find the source and remove it. They give you misdirections until you massively disrupt their support system with complaints. They are impervious to any suggestion that they are spamming you. They tell you it’s necessary to keep you updated on any updates or security patches. Apparently they never heard of email. Oh wait. They have, for their daily bombardment of marketing messages.

    They oversell their plugins which aren’t as good as the free plugins in the WP repository. Stick with WP free plugins.

  7. Timothy Bowers
    Timothy Bowers March 11, 2014 at 12:11 |

    Hey all.

    I see a few negative comments here so I’d like to address some of these.

    Firstly, @Lee Adler aka DrsTool. I’m not sure why you’re using two names/accounts here, perhaps you felt the appearance of two separate people would compound your argument somehow.

    A company of our size is sure to have some unhappy customers, unfortunately you can’t always please everyone all of the time. That’s not an excuse for having unhappy customers, but it is unfortunately a fact when you grow to and beyond the size we are regardless of what you do to try and prevent such issues.

    Anyone reading this can find a number of very positive reviews over at AppSumo from an offer we once did:

    http://www.appsumo.com/wpmu-dev/

    The thing with happy customers is that they are often content with what they have and don’t go out shouting about their experience (there are exceptions) whereas unhappy customers tend to be more motivated to make noise and tarnish the name of a company because they feel personally hurt. I’d say I’ve been guilty of this in the past too with companies I’ve dealt with.

    http://premium.wpmudev.org/forums/topic/enewsletter-how-do-i-set-up-to-send-daily-email-automatically-from-one-or-more-of-my-rss-feed

    In your case we offered to swap your purchase when we found you were unhappy, we were not obliged to do this but we really wanted to try and make this a positive experience for you and were more than willing to go that extra mile for you.

    You mentioned that we give you misdirection until you massively disrupt our support services but yet I can’t find a support ticket you opened asking how to remove the notice. Hijacking other members threads, being vulgar and abusive in emails is more than disruptive, it’s childish and immature. We won’t tolerate playground tactics and bullying, none of our members or staff should be subjected to this kind of behaviour. We’re all adults in what should be a civilised society. As you made this public I’m happy to share a post you made here:

    http://premium.wpmudev.org/forums/topic/install-wpmu-dev-plugin-warning#post-466680

    In this thread Alex original explained the benefits as well as what to look for to remove the notices without the originally member being disruptive. It’s a simple two second process and if you struggle with this then we’re more than happy to provide a simplistic plugin that will remove the notice without touching any code or installing the Dashboard.

    If you don’t wish to use our plugin and you removed the code then this notice won’t continue to show as you imply it does, that’s because there is no code to action it. So if it’s still present then you must have our code activated somewhere.

    I’m really sorry we couldn’t assist your further, had you not been abusive and insulting then we’d have happily continued to help you as much as possible.

    All the best for the future.

    1. Lee Adler (@Lee_Adler)
      Lee Adler (@Lee_Adler) March 11, 2014 at 13:46 |

      It’s pretty clear that Drstool and Lee_Adler are one and the same. I publish under both names, am logged in on both sites at all times, and make no secret of my good old friend Drstool. I did not realize when I came back the second time that I was logged in here any differently than the first time. I would imagine that most people recognized that.

      Your incredible arrogance in refusing to address the issue of spamming people is astounding. You deserved every bit of abuse that I could heap on you and then some.

      I was, and remain furious at your hijacking of my control panel. It’s an outrage. Your behavior is completely outrageous and unacceptable. I spoke to you in terms that you need to hear, even though it’s clear that you are impenetrable. You simply do not care. You’re a heartless spammer.

      Feel free to repeat every single word that I sent you both on your boards and by email. I stand behind what I wrote. In fact, I encourage you to post all of it publicly on your site. Then you can have all your groupies speak up in your defense.

      Address the problem. Stop spamming people with your unwanted message. Pushing a marketing message on people when they have deleted your plugin is SPAM. There’s no way around that. If you continue to use every trick in the book to avoid responsibility for your despicable behavior, then I will continue to point that out to people.

      Stop making excuses.

      Stop the SPAM.

      Lee Adler (aka DrStool)
      Editor and Publisher
      The Wall Street Examiner Company Inc.
      http://wallstreetexaminer.com
      http://radiofreewallstreet.fm
      http://capitalstool.com
      Twitter Feed- http://twitter.com/lee_adler

      1. Timothy Bowers
        Timothy Bowers March 11, 2014 at 17:34 |

        We’ve already made it clear how to remove the notice if you don’t wish it to be there, and we were more than happy to help you remove this if you struggle. Had we not cared we wouldn’t have offered to help, so I believe we’ve been more than fair here. Had we refused to help you then I’d understand your anger.

        I don’t see any point in continuing to debate this with you when a solution to your frustration was offered without argument, only reasoning but yet you still feel compelled to be angry.

        Being abusive and using vulgar words to insult people working for a company is hardly terms someone needs to use when voicing an opinion. Our staff have the right to work without fear and intimidation.

        I do find it amusing that your comment here includes 3 spam links to your site and one to your twitter feed, glass houses.

        Anyway, I’m truly sorry you feel this way and that you’re so angry. I was really hoping to turn this experience around for you but from your responses, aggression, and abuse it would seem that nothing I say will satisfy you and that you’d only continue to argue in a downward spiral leading to further frustration for us both. It’s also not fair to this website or it’s readers. So I’ll refrain from responding to you further.

        On that note I’d like you bid you a good day, all the best.

  8. Chris Parker
    Chris Parker May 25, 2014 at 00:10 |

    Signed up with WPMU under the impression (based on their blog post) that a plugin was 100% compatible with a specific framework. The plugin is NOT 100% compatible. Awaiting a full refund. Doubt if it will happen. I was told I’d have to wait for them to “fix” it. No timeline for the fix was given. Therefore, I’d have to “re-buy” the plugin since the support is only good for 30 days. Simple bait and switch operation. Buyer beware.

    1. Timothy Bowers (@TimothyKBowers)

      Hey there.

      I had to go and research this the blog post you were referring to, I see it was actually a 3 to 4 year old blog article. When referencing articles that are years and years old it’s always best to check if they’re still valid, as time goes on the code in both projects can change so much. I appreciate that might have caused some frustration and I’ve arranged for that article to be removed.

      There was however no mention of this in our sales or usage information which we maintain with every release.

      I’m really sorry for the issues and frustration this has caused, if you haven’t yet received a refund then please feel free to use our contact forms, reference this comment whilst marking to my attention and I’ll ensure you get a refund. The outdated article should rightly have been removed and that was our fault.

      Or if instead you wish to keep the plugin then I’d be happy to extend your account on a full membership (no subscription) for free and for 6 month at any point in the future. Just use our contact forms and let me know.

      I hope you find this a fair solution.

      Have a great day.

  9. WhiteTailNZ
    WhiteTailNZ June 22, 2014 at 17:51 |

    It’s basically a scam. It’s not really – but it basically is.

    DON’T USE any WPMU DEV plugin or service unless you’re willing to pay $19 per month forever. No updates for your plugin(s) without paying the monthly subscription. Also if you don’t pay the monthly fee then you get an annoying ‘please subscribe to blah-blah-blah’ banner at the top of your Dashboard. The banner has no unique identifiers so you can’t even hide it with CSS without hiding all dashboard error messages (not recommended). You could edit their ‘WPMU DEV Dashboard Plugin’ but that’s the one part they do allow you to update freely. If you don’t update that – you guessed it – more obnoxious error messages.

    Fucking shit company. Enough to make me use terrible language in the public domain… #idgaf

    1. WhiteTailNZ
      WhiteTailNZ June 22, 2014 at 18:01 |

      Oh, and before a flippant ‘read the fine print’ response is given, I would like to say that your WPMU Wiki plugin (specifically) offers the most limited functionality I’ve ever seen for any ‘premium’ plugin, with not even a contents page, and no further instructions/advice given. It’s certainly not worth the $19 you charge. I would ask for a refund but I’m still using the plugin – just heavily modified. I’m quite tempted to chuck my version in the WP plugin repository, and github.

    2. Timothy Bowers (@TimothyKBowers)

      Hey WhiteTailNZ

      I’m sorry to hear about your frustration, however I just wanted to correct something here regarding the subscription. You do not need an active subscription to hide the dashboard nag. You can either use the Dashboard plugin or you can contact support we’ll advise how to remove it easily by commenting out one single line of code.

      We also offer a free and really small simple plugin that has a couple of lines of code that will hide the nag. It’s just like the CSS option you mentioned. If you want this then please contact support and they will happily get this over to you.

      It is true that an active subscription is required for all updates, we don’t hide this fact. In fact it’s how we’ve run a successful and sustainable company for so long. You also don’t need to pay forever, you can signup and cancel as often or little as you wish. Many WordPress companies are now changing their subscription models to secure their futures as a plugin provider. Just like working for any company or even a client you wouldn’t expect them to give you one payment and then you work for them forever after.

      Hope you’re having a great weekend.

      1. WhiteTailNZ
        WhiteTailNZ June 22, 2014 at 18:30 |

        I have to give you credit. That’s a very fast reply… Thanks for the offer but I’ve already fixed it for myself. I just don’t appreciate your business model and don’t have any qualms about sharing my own experience with wpmu dev. All the best.

        1. Timothy Bowers (@TimothyKBowers)

          I get that, it’s not for everybody.

          If in future you do find that you want an update or another plugin, then please contact sales first and reference this message whilst asking for me. I’d love to try and make that a much better experience for you.

          On an unrelated note, it’s boiling hot here which is a novelty for the UK. I think it’s time for another BBQ.

          Have a great day.

          1. David Fraiser
            David Fraiser June 22, 2014 at 19:07 |

            Giving WPMU way more benefit of the doubt than they clearly deserve, it’s an extremely poor business model, built on tricking customers instead of giving them a reason to *want* to come back and use their service(s). How many business do you see that nee not even a page but an entirely different domain name/site, incsubfee.com, in order to explain the credit card charges? They no doubt have a lot of chargebacks, because people weren’t expecting to have “subscribed.”

            In addition, they clearly don’t listen to their customers, or else they’d be giving people what they want rather than trying to slide something by.

            As Josh from WPMU told me, and I quote, “Just to further clarify, we don’t sell plugins and themes, we sell a membership subscription.”

            So here’s a thought: make that CLEAR on your site! Try honesty for a change. It’s not even the subscription model that’s so objectionable, it’s the slimy way you try to slide it by people. Don’t make it look like you “sell plugins”, because clearly you don’t.

          2. Timothy Bowers (@TimothyKBowers)

            Hey David.

            As well as running WPMU DEV we also run one of the worlds largest WordPress Multisite installs, it’s Edublogs which you may have heard of. We also run CampusPress. Both of these are targeted at the educational sector and provide services for many respected schools, colleges and universities around the world.

            Paypal only let you define one message to appear on a bank statement, using either of those main brand names would be confusing to the other. Incsub is the parent company, and on that link incsubfee.com you will see that we explain what the charge may relate to and how it can be cancelled. We also provide contact details should you need to query them further.

            We have a relatively low amount of chargebacks, had we a high level Paypal would simply restrict and even ban our account as per their terms of service. We also have an incredibly low number of disgruntled customers, but naturally the ones that feel most dissatisfied will go out of their way to voice themselves whereas the happy ones are usually content. I’m guilty of that too, making myself heard when upset but whilst I’m happy I just let things play on.

            You mentioned about being clear, here are some of our FAQ’s on our service from the join and terms of service pages:

            “Can I cancel my membership and still use WPMU DEV plugins and themes?

            Yes you can! Use our plugins and themes for as long as you like, even when your membership expires. Ongoing memberships are only required for support, upgrades, new releases, security updates, videos and the anti splog API. All of our plugins and themes are 100% GPL.”

            “So I don’t need an ongoing membership?
            Correct! Of course we recommend an ongoing membership (for the incredible ongoing support, new releases, upgrades and updates… if nothing else) but you can carry on using our plugins and themes after you have cancelled your membership, no worries.”

            “Q: Do I need an ongoing membership of WPMU DEV to use your plugins and themes?

            A: No ongoing membership is required!. All of our plugins and themes are GPL so you can carry on using them for as long as you like and on as many sites as you like, without any license.”

            “Q: OK, sounds great, but can I easily cancel my membership?

            A: Yes, you can easily cancel, upgrade or downgrade your membership via our easy-to-use membership panel – just login and it’s on your homepage.”

            “Q: Can I sign up for a months membership, cancel, then come back in half a year and buy another month?

            A: For sure, lots of people do that, although we do recommend an ongoing membership, it’s much more convenient… and you’ll never get stuck with a WordPress issue ever again.”

            And if that’s still not clear then we welcome anyone to contact us prior to purchase, we’d be more than happy to talk you through everything.

            Thank for taking the time to leave your feedback, I will of course continue to pass all constructive feedback along to our designers and developers who manage this area of things.

            Have a great day.

          3. Timothy Bowers (@TimothyKBowers)

            Hey again David,

            Just wanted to also share some ratings with you:

            http://public.nicereply.com/wpmudev

            Nicereply are a remote service that monitor feedback on how we handle customer interaction with us over email. I know we don’t always get things right, but if I can make a better experience then I’d love to chat about that over email, just use our contact form, reference this comment and mark to my attention.

            Take care.

      2. drstool
        drstool June 22, 2014 at 18:34 |

        My experience with them was just as WhiteTail has said.

        Bowers is their chief propaganda officer. You can remove the ad as he said but they do not make it easy.

        I found free plugins in the regular wordpress repository that were far superior to anything from WPMU that I tried. They are relentless spammers and marketers and their plugins are no better than those you can get for free or from independent providers for a small cost.

        Use WPMU with eyes open and at your own risk.

        Lee Adler
        Editor and Publisher
        http://wallstreetexaminer.com

        1. David Fraiser
          David Fraiser June 22, 2014 at 19:09 |

          Amen.

      3. drstool
        drstool June 22, 2014 at 18:35 |

        No doubt about it. Spamming is a sustainable business model.

    3. WhiteTailNZ
      WhiteTailNZ June 22, 2014 at 18:28 |

      Okay I see that my points have been pretty much been raised by others, and that bad language isn’t appreciated. Feel free to edit/remove my comments. I probably shouldn’t have made an outburst anyway, but I really do feel ripped off by this plugin company, and I’m an experienced WordPress Developer, and not just some ‘average Joe’ user!

      I really disliked how this Tom person has posted that they’d offered a yearly subscription ‘special deal’ for $79 (RRP $588) in mid-December, as if that’s some way of dealing with the myriad of complaints from disappointed 1-month users. So 365 days later the consumers are supposed to forfeit updates to all of the WPMU DEV plugins, or pay $588 only 10 days before Christmas? Yeah sure… Like that’s going to happen.

      I think the user should only have to pay once, and then get free updates. If it’s per-website then you’ll still make money from all the new developers using your apparently-great plugins. Come on…

      1. WhiteTailNZ
        WhiteTailNZ June 22, 2014 at 18:34 |

        *Tim. Not Tom. I blame Myspace.

      2. David Fraiser
        David Fraiser June 22, 2014 at 19:08 |

        I agree with everything you’ve written. I find the language to be totally appropriate, also.

  10. Denis
    Denis June 24, 2014 at 15:45 |

    I am developing a Buddypress/Membership site, and all search engine paths have led me to WPMUDEV. Not having a try-before-you-buy or free-but-paid-for-extensions (a-la-WooCommerce) I was compelled to sign-up, and so a few days ago I sacrificed about $82.80 for the heavily discounted first payment of their quarterly subscription.

    Among other things I was hoping for a modern, flat, responsive theme that would support the said Membership and Buddypress. However, only old, outdated design appears to be all WPMUDEV has to offer in the Buddypress themes department.

    Another disappointment is their membership plugin, which looks positively archaic compared with competition like iThemes Exchange.

    I still need to take a few of their other plugins for a test run, which I hope will redeem WPMUDEV’s reputation.

    I must add that I’m not thrilled with their sales model.

    1. Timothy Bowers (@TimothyKBowers)

      Hey there.

      I’m sorry to hear you were not happy with our themes, I’m not happy with them either if I’m honest. Themes were never really the core of our business, but I’m happy to mention that we’ll close to a public beta of our new theming project so I’m hoping those will be more to your taste.

      We do display all of our core themes, screenshots and demos from the project pages so I’m not sure why you’d think we’d have any flat responsive themes, it’s not something we advertise.

      You’ll be happy to know that the next major release of the Membership is being totally rewritten, right now though the plugin uses WordPress styling.

      If you get any issues then please feel free to use the support channels we provide so that we may assist you further.

      Have a great day!

  11. mthomas27
    mthomas27 June 24, 2014 at 22:21 |

    It’s your marketing style, it’s a bit aggressive to be fair. I’ve noticed you now you have a contact form and a phone number on your site which is a step in the right direction. You’ve got some helpful articles on your blog, shame about your marketing technique I think it’ll come back to haunt you, I hope it doesn’t though because we all make mistakes, the point is to learn from them.

    1. DavidM
      DavidM June 30, 2014 at 17:50 |

      Hi @mthomas27 ,

      Thanks for your feedback on that. I guess I don’t really see how our marketing is more aggressive than most other service providers, maybe you’re referring to the degree of integration between our blog and membership services?

      Also, we’ve always been accessible by email and through our contact form. We’re always happy to assist with any pre-sales or similar inquiries there. In fact, if you’d like to discuss this, we’d certainly love to if you wish to contact us there. We’d love to hear from you. 🙂

      Hope you have a fantastic week!

Comments are closed.